Album Review: Bowling For Soup with The Dollyrots & Patent Pending - One Big Happy - Already Heard
On first listen we fell in love Noyo Mathis and knew that 'Endure' needed to be heard. It's post hardcore meets emo meets indie meets math rock. Take a listen to the full EP right here.
Without a doubt Neck Deep are one of this years breakout bands. After kicking off the year
with the release of their debut LP, 'Wishful Thinking', the Wrexham pop-punk five piece
haven’t stopped touring since. From festival appearances throughout the UK and Europe to 2 months in North America as part of the Vans Warped Tour. We caught up with vocalist Ben Barlow and bassist Fil Thorpe-Evans at the Leeds Festival. They discussed their past festival experiences, supporting Blink-182, their up and coming UK headline tour and being
“leaders” of the UK pop-punk movement.
With the festival season more or less over for another year, it’s time for a whole load of
exciting releases to see the light of day. September sees a plethora of exciting releases, so much so that the Already Heard team were spoilt for choices when it came to picking this months must hear releases. Nevertheless they've completed the tricky task and picked out their five must-hear releases for the coming month.
With their combination of refreshingly introspective lyrics, crisp riffs and bouncy choruses, Homebound tick all the right boxes when it comes to promising UK pop-punk bands. Their debut EP, 'Coming of Age' sees the young band make a confident first mark on the ladder to greater things. We spoke to the band to discuss the importance of a debut release, and the comeback of pop-punk.
Packing stadium sized rock anthems with an incredibly striking emotional punch, and graced with one of the most staggeringly unique vocal talents to have graced the UK Rock scene in a long time, Cambridge’s Lonely The Brave have become one of the single most talked about new bands to emerge in recent years. With their debut album ‘The Day’s War’ finally released this week, Already Heard caught up with lead guitarist Mark Trotter and Bassist
Andrew Bushen at last weekend’s Leeds Festival.
We've got a full review, live photos and interviews from one of the highlights of the summer - Leeds Festival.
Check out our full coverage from this years Hevy Fest right here!

Album Review: Bowling For Soup with The Dollyrots & Patent Pending - One Big Happy

Legends Bowling For Soup have teamed up with The Dollyrots and Patent Pending to release brand new compilation album ‘One Big Happy.’ The ten track record consists of new songs by each band along with covers of each other’s songs, overall conjuring up a fairly unique concept for a release. ‘One Big Happy’ also coincides with the One Big Happy Tour which sees all three bands travelling the UK & Ireland together.

Let’s start off with Bowling For Soup, who kick start the record with their brand new track ‘Let’s Go To The Pub.’ This track is very relatable to say the least, with its overly infectious and interactive lyrics: “We do this every weekend, we can never get enough, let’s go to the pub, pub!” Its rhythm section is very typical Bowling For Soup but it’s what they’re good at, producing non-serious, fun natured tracks. The band also cover The Dollyrots ‘My Heart Explodes’ and Patent Pending’s ‘Spin Me Around,’ both of which they interpret fantastically.

Up next is The Dollyrots, who I personally can’t take much of a liking to. All three tracks that they recorded for the release: their own ‘Just Like All the Rest;’ Bowling for Soup’s ‘The Bitch Song;’ and Patent Pending’s ‘Little Miss Impossible’ are all very credible but for me it’s the vocal style that I’m not a fan of. Musically the band is talented and works well with their genre but I would like them much more if the tone of the vocals was better suited.

Patent Pending is probably my favourite band on the record, releasing their brand new track ‘Psycho in Love’ along with Bowling For Soup’s ‘Shut Up And Smile’ and The Dollyrots ‘Hyperactive.’ Their best track is their version of ‘Shut Up And Smile,’ where their harmonies at the beginning and their interpretation in general make for a fantastic cover. For me it’s the standout track on the record.

‘Love Ya, Love Ya, Love Ya’ ends the record, performed by Jaret Reddick (Bowling For Soup) and Kelly Ogden (The Dollyrots.) This collaboration works in their favour, playing off each other and producing a worthy one off track.

‘One Big Happy’ is a very easy listening, sing-a-long record that is a dream for any Bowling For Soup, The Dollyrots and/or Patent Pending fan. It’s a really great concept that brings three bands together, all of whom were good friends to begin with. If you like one of the bands on the album then chances are you’ll like the other two: with the band’s interpretations complimenting the original versions, ‘One Big Happy’ makes for a good release with an even better concept.


'One Big Happy' by Bowling For Soup with The Dollyrots & Patent Pending is out now on Brando/Que-so Records.

Bowling For Soup links: Official Website|Facebook|Twitter

Words by Hannah Gillicker (@HannahGillicker)

  1. whos-thesalad-now reblogged this from joepending
  2. candyflip182 reblogged this from joepending
  3. madelynelaine reblogged this from joepending
  4. kip77 reblogged this from joepending
  5. joepending reblogged this from already-heardmusic
  6. already-heardmusic posted this
blog comments powered by Disqus