Beartooth Detail Fifth Album (‘The Surface’)

Beartooth 2023
Photo Credit: Jimmy Fontaine

Following on from dropping a headbanging summer anthem in ‘Sunshine’ this past April, Beartooth have now shared full details of their fifth album. It’s titled ‘The Surface’ and is set to be released on October 13th via Red Bull Records.

Frontman Caleb Shomo has always been upfront in Beartooth‘s songwriting, constantly being honest. However while past releases have seen him be tortured by his inner demons, ‘The Surface’  sees him take a more optimistic outlook.

“Beartooth’s entire discography has been snapshots of my inner monologue and emotional state over the years with a recurring theme: depression and self-loathing,” says Shomo. “It’s been tough to understand why I’ve felt the way I do for so long. During the pandemic, I was faced with two distinct paths in life. One — I continue doing nothing to manage the realities of my mental health and continue down a path of self-destruction, ultimately ending in my demise. Two — choose to do the work needed to maintain a healthier relationship with myself, no matter how difficult or painful.”

Caleb goes on to state that ‘The Surface’ “is the story of my beginnings in the new world I’ve created for myself. One focused on health, self-love, positivity, understanding, hard work, and most of all second chances. At the end of the day, life is short for all of us. We can’t escape the end, so why not make friends with it and live in a world focused on living a personally fulfilling life.”

Here are the full details of ‘The Surface’, the new album from Beartooth

beartooth the surface

1. The Surface
2. Riptide
3. Doubt Me
4. The Better Me (Feat. Hardy)
5. Might Love Myself
6. Sunshine!
7. What’s Killing You
8. Look The Other Way
9. What Are You Waiting For
10. My New Reality
11. I Was Alive

Fans can pre-order/pre-save ‘The Surface’ here.

Hear Beartooth‘s new single – ‘Might Love Myself’

As well as sharing full details of their new album, ‘The Surface’Beartooth have dropped a new track called ‘Might Love Myself’.

It epitomises the personal and positive theme of ‘The Surface’. With its towering melody, sleek production, and stellar rock guitars, it’s an ideal introduction to Beartooth‘s next chapter.

“I truly believe mental health starts with a healthy relationship with one’s self,” explained Caleb Shomo when commenting on ‘Might Love Myself’. “Self-love was something I never believed would be a part of my life. I would focus on my depression and my sadness, believing those parts of me were always the most prominent in my mind. But through hard work comes results. Self-love had to be a choice; it can’t be an emotion. Emotions are fleeting and can change with a sunset or a single word. Choosing to put your own health (mentally and physically) as the highest priority in your life has been the only path I’ve found to self-love. It helped me realize what I’m capable of, how strong I am, and that progress is more important than any immediate fix to my emotions. This song is about the first moment I realized something was significantly shifting in my life.”


This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.