It is no doubt that September is packed with important and notable releases. We’re only seven days in and the likes of Iron Maiden and The Wonder Years have already released important albums. Whilst the remainder of the month sees a handful of exciting releases including some that didn’t make this feature (The Winter Passing and No Devotion). Nevertheless the Already Heard team has picked six key releases that you have to hear this month!

Bring Me The Horizon – That’s The Spirit
Remember when everyone hated Bring Me The Horizon? Loved by “deathcore” MySpace kids and loathed by pretty much everyone else. How have times changed. Album number 5, ‘That’s The Spirit’ arrives on a wave of expectation. After delivering a superb slice of anthemic metal with ‘Drown’ last December, they’ve kept the momentum going with ‘Happy Song’ and ‘Throne’.

The former drills along with cheerleader chants with Oli Sykes flexes his clean (and improved vocals). Whilst the former is an almighty blast of hard rock with a bold chorus and (somewhat) quickly synths dominating. So having delivered three pulsated tracks, we have high hopes for ‘That’s The Spirit’. It seems Sykes and co are set to unleash a career defining record. One that will smash the glass ceiling and see them play arenas worldwide. Sure they may have abandoned their deathcore style with each passing album but what BMTH have done is progress and developed as a band to the point now where their sound is layered and intriguing. (SR)

Bring Me The Horizon links: Website|Facebook|Twitter

‘That’s The Spirit’ by Bring Me The Horizon is released on September 11th on RCA.

The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die – Harmlessness
When The World Is A Beautiful Place… announced they’d signed to Epitaph, it sounded like one of their infamous April Fool’s Day jokes. But, the more you think about it, the more it makes sense as the next logical step for a band whose popularity shows little sign of slowing down.

Signs are promising, too. Instead of hiding away and working on the follow-up to 2013’s incredible ‘Whenever, If Ever’, the group has been busy releasing numerous excellent singles throughout 2015, the pick of which being the split with Rozwell Kid, for which they contributed the mesmerising ‘Chest and Shirt’.

Having been underground darlings for so long, it means ‘Hamlessness’ could be the album that finally pushes TWIABP into wider consciousness and allows them to join The Menzingers, Joyce Manor and Desaparecidos as the latest success story for a rejuvenated Epitaph. (RM)

The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die links: Website|Facebook|Twitter

‘Harmlessness’ by The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die is released on September 25th on Epitaph Records.

Svalbard – One Day All This Will End
It seems like an age we’ve been waiting on Svalbard to bring their sonic maelstrom on record, but though we’ve been drip fed EP’s and that Pariso split, finally the fruit of their years as a band is here. In the time that other bands might have rushed to get 2 albums done, they’ve whittled down and honed their skills in live sets to get us down to exactly what Svalbard is all about: riffs, atmosphere and gritty incredible vocals.
One Day All This Will End by Svalbard

‘One Day All This Will End’ is an album that is focussed, nuanced and an incredible payoff for those who’ve been waiting to get to hear these songs outside a live setting. It’s a whole new beast from 2013’s ‘Gone Tomorrow’ full of intense vocals, chunky riffs and rich textures. They’ll be tearing us all a new one with this record. (HR)

Svalbard links: Twitter|Facebook

‘One Day All This Will End’ by Svalbard is released on September 25th on Holy Roar Records.

Blacklisters – Adult
Leeds’ Blacklisters return this month with ‘Adult’, another adventure in gritty guitar tones; tight but scrappy rhythms and drawling ‘devil may care but I’ll scream my lungs out ’til the police come round’ vocals. It has all the excitement and intensity I felt listening to heavy music when I was a teenager, scary but enticing. It sounds like having the living hell beaten out of you but it feels so energising, you’d take the pain for that rush.

There’s a confidence and punk rock attitude running through the off kilter rhythms, thick, raspy riffs and song titles like ‘The Sadness of Axl Rose’ that make this a really worthwhile listen and a great introduction to the band. It may be a lazy comparison, but Jesus Lizard fans would avoid this band at their peril, especially on first single, ‘Shirts’. (HR)

Blacklisters links: Website|Facebook|Twitter

‘Adult’ by Blacklisters is released on 18th September on Smalltown America.

The Dear Hunter – Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise
‘Rebirth in Reprise’ is the fourth instalment of The Dear Hunter’s concept story, which documents the life, birth and death of a boy known only as The Dear Hunter, set at the turn of the 20th century. Fans have waited six years to hear this latest chapter of the story, although the band has certainly not been dormant during that time. With thirty-six track concept album ‘The Colour Spectrum’ in 2011 and 2013’s ‘Migrant’ to contend with, not to mention front-man Casey Crescenzo’s full symphony in 2014, it’s a superb achievement to have another album already lined up for release.

‘A Night on the Town’ provides the perfect taster to whet the appetite for ‘Act IV’, offering the intricate, multi-layered and multi-instrumental aspects that we’ve come to expect from The Dear Hunter. The second part of the song is especially emotive as it pays homage to ‘Mustard Gas’ from ‘Act III’, making this a perfect transitional song that forces excitement for what’s to come and a shiver of nostalgia for what’s gone before. (MJ)

‘Act VI: Rebirth in Reprise’ by The Dear Hunter is released on September 9th on Cave & Canary Goods/Equal Vision Records (US) and Rude Records (UK).

The Dear Hunter links: Website|Facebook|Twitter|Soundcloud

Against Me! – 23 Live Sex Acts
If you weren’t lucky enough to catch either of Against Me’s blistering sets at Reading and Leeds last week, happily you can still get a taste of their unique live performance through their brand new live album ’23 Live Sex Acts’. Taken from a variety of gigs during their U.S. touring over the last 18 months, this album captures snapshots of Laura Jane Grace and her band on their very top form.

Much as we’re still left eagerly anticipating brand new material from the band, this release is a spirited full bore romp through their back catalogue. As well as focusing on tracks from ’Transgender Dysphoria Blues’ all the old favourites are here too in all their live glory. Frankly who wouldn’t want a live album of one of punk rock’s very best live acts? (DW)

’23 Live Sex Acts’ by Against Me! is out now on Xtra Mile Recordings.

Against Me! links: Website|Facebook|Twitter

Words by Sean Reid (SR), Rob Mair (RM), Heather Robertson (HR), Mark Johnson (MJ) and Dane Wright (DW).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.