Song of the Day: Jaws The Shark – ‘California’

Jaws The Shark
Photo Credit: Rob Crawford

Following a trio of EP’s, rising multi-instrumentalist Jaws The Shark (Olly Bailey) has shared details of his debut album, ‘Wasteland’. It coincides with the release of its first single – ‘California’.

Joined by bassist Brendan O’Boyle, and Dinosaur Pile-Up’s Michael Sheils on drums, ‘California’ sees Bailey provide a swaggering slice of indie/alt-rock interlaced with a driving, infectious hook. “California was one of the last tracks I wrote for the record, it was one of those ones that just sprung out of nowhere and fell into my lap one day.” explains Jaws The Shark.”

Complemented by O’Boyle’s throbbing bass lines in the verse, and Sheils’ impactful drum work, the track takes inspiration from a difficult relationship a friend of Bailey’s had. “I had a friend that moved from the UK to the US, and in doing so it meant that her long-term relationship collapsed. I wrote the track with that scenario in mind and wanted to write each verse from both people’s perspectives, from the one doing the breaking up and the one being broken up with. In the end after some time had passed, they both realised that it was actually for the best for both of them.”

The accompanying video captures Olly rocking out in front of Californian scenes, yet he’s joined a second guitarist April, who is dressed identically to him. “The video itself is representative of the track in the sense that it shows us batting with our feelings and emotions, as a relationship is being torn apart due to circumstance,” Olly stated. “Having April in the video represents the other person in the relationship, the male/female dynamic, but the fact that we’re also dressed in the same clothes and look like one another was a conscious decision to represent that you also need to take a look in the mirror at yourself sometimes and be a little more introspective.”

As for ‘Wasteland’, the eleven-track effort allows Jaws The Shark to expand his songwriting and style, becoming a versatile artist in the process. The London-based (via Devon) musician draws influences beyond rock and indie, taking in shoegaze and electronic elements.

“’Wasteland’ is an album that I’d been wanting to write for some time now, and one that I’m really proud of personally” says Bailey. “Some of the tracks that I write wouldn’t necessarily be put into the Jaws The Shark category when you look back at what I’ve released previously, but I wanted this album to show off some of my versatility that I like to explore when writing songs.”

Jaws The Shark will mark the release of ‘California’ and the news of ‘Wasteland’ with three shows this weekend, kicking off with a show in London tonight.

21st Notting Hill Arts Club, London (remaining tickets here)
22nd Off The Square, Manchester
23rd The Lanes, Bristol

1. Wasteland
2. California
3. Got It Made
4. Lately
5. Last Train to Sante Fe
6. Rejoice or Pray
7. Nothing Lasts
8. Summer Puddle
9. End of an Era
10. Just Popping Out For Forever

Pre-Save/Pre-Order here.

‘Wasteland’ by Jaws The Shark is released on July 19th.

Find Jaws The Shark on: Facebook | X (Formerly Twitter) | Instagram  | Spotify | Apple Music |

From Monday to Friday, we put the spotlight on a fresh track that you need to hear.

Every week, we aim to showcase a wide range of music, from familiar favourites to emerging bands to DIY newcomers.

Want to submit your new track for a potential ‘Song of the Day’ selection? Head here to share your details.


This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.