Song of the Day: The Story So Far – ‘Letterman’

The Story So Far
Photo Credit:

Ever since exploding with 2011’s ‘Under Soil and Dirt’, The Story So Far have gradually evolved from their pop-punk origins to incorporate lighter, indie influences. That progression is evident on their new single, ‘Letterman’. It sees the Californian quartet take a more melody-driven approach with tempered execution.

Led by Ryan Torf’s pounding drums, Kevin Geyer and William Levy exchange plucky and clean guitar parts as Parker Cannon’s transparent words surge into the chorus. Overall, ‘Letterman’ provides a fleeting reminder of The Story So Far‘s versatility, partly due to its atmospheric undertone that radiantly bursts throughout. Furthermore, it’s an ideal stylistic bridge between 2018’s ‘Proper Dose’ and this summer’s ‘I Want To Disappear’.

Produced by Jon Markson (Drug Church, Drain, Koyo), ‘I Want To Disappear’ will arrive on June 21st. Even though there was little info shared about the album besides its title, release date, artwork, and track listing, eagle-eyed fans picked up the following from the album’s deluxe edition pre-order.

“We spent two months in Europe touring, three weeks, in New Jersey recording and a weekend at home making videos. In this time we were capturing moments not to consciously put them into print, but because it is who we are, We document our life because we are grateful for our friendships and the time we get to spend making and performing, music we love. All of which we owe to you, our fans. Through your support, connection, and patience we have had the pleasure of growing up together. This record is for you. This record is for anyone who has lost someone special.”

That blurb from the photo book, which is part of the box set, suggests ‘I Want To Disappear’ will be executed with a sense of gratitude. It gives the impression that The Story So Far is thankful for their friendship, their fans, and the position they’re in. Yet as ‘Letterman’ and the album title hint at, the record sees the band dealing with grief and absence. I’m sure we’ll have a clearer picture by the time June 21st rolls around.

The Story So Far - I Want To Disappear

1. All This Time
2. Watch You Go
3. Letterman
4. Jump The Gun
5. Big Blind
6. Nothing To Say
7. Keep You Around
8. You’re Still in My Way
9. White Shores
10. I Want To Disappear

Pre-order here.

While there are no plans for the band to return to the UK yet, The Story So Far will be heading out on a massive North American tour. The impressive line-up headlined by A Day To Remember with Four Year Strong as the main support alongside The Story So Far. Militarie Gun, Pain Of Truth, and Scowl will be appearing on select dates.

‘I Want To Disappear’ by The Story So Far is released on June 21st, 2024 on Pure Noise Records.

Find The Story So Far on: Facebook | X (Formerly Twitter) | Instagram | Spotify | Apple Music | | Website

From Monday to Friday, we put the spotlight on a fresh track that you need to hear.

Every week, we aim to showcase a wide range of music, from familiar favourites to emerging bands to DIY newcomers.

Want to submit your new track for a potential ‘Song of the Day’ selection? Head here to share your details.


This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.