Chicago Pop-Punk Newcomers Wilmette Announce Debut Album

Photo Credit: Alex Zarek

Chicago pop-punk upstarts Wilmette have revealed their debut album, ‘Hyperfocused’, will be released on August 4th via Mutant League Records.

The quintet are the latest in a lineage of pop-punk bands from the Illinois area; Fall Out Boy, Knuckle Puck, Real Friends, State Champs, and now Wilmette.

1. No Conviction
2. Hyperfocused
3. Playing Dead
4. I Don’t Even Want To Be Around Anymore
5. Circa ‘99
6. Small Talk
7. Everybody Wants Me Dead
8. No One Knew
9. Sunflower
10. Out Of My Hands

Watch the video for ‘Hyperfocused’

Alongside the album announcement comes the colourful video for its title track.

‘Hyperfocused’ bursts with exuberance and energy that sees Wilmette firmly fit in the pop-punk mould, not that’s a bad thing.

Lyrically, the track contemplates chasing your own goals and the expectations of others.

 “This track is about running the fine line between pursuing your own personal goals/interests and what others expect from you,” explains Griffin Guge. “It’s important to learn how to compromise with both of those things without letting either side get sabotaged. There are always multiple perspectives with countless experiences to back them up. ‘Hyperfocused’ is about pursuing your own personal growth without destroying the growth of others.”

If you like what you hear, you can pre-order ‘Hyperfocused’ here.

Who are Willmette?

Willmette formed in 2018. Since they have released three EP’s; 2018’s ‘Space To Breathe’, 2019’s Anxious Body‘, and a self-titled EP in 2020. While last year they released a cover of Busted’s ‘Year 3000’.


This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.