Barely Civil Detail New Album and Share New Single

Barely Civil
Photo Credit: Carrie Bergen

Milwaukee emo band Barely Civil have confirmed they will be releasing a new album. ‘I’d Say I’m Not Fine’ will be released through Take This To Heart Records on March 22nd.

With comparisons to Manchester Orchestra and MewithoutYou, Barely Civil first captured our attention in 2018 with the release of ‘We Can Live Here Forever’. Since then, they followed it up with 2020’s full-length, ‘I’ll Figure This Out’.

As for their third album, I’d Say I’m Not Fine, Barely Civil vocalist/guitarist Connor Erickson describes the album as “an amalgamation of the rage, pain, and self-framing that came in the wake of the COVID pandemic.” Produced by TWIABP member/producer Chris Teti, ‘I’d Say I’m Not Fine’ aims to deliver answers to the questions past releases produced. Erickson adds “Bitter at times, hopeful and direct in others, this album is a conscious attempt to answer the questions presented in the band’s debut and sophomore installments.”

Here is the artwork and track listing for Barely Civil’s New Album

1. I’d Say I’m…
2. Floating Again
3. Coasting, Mostly
4. Shifting Blame
5. Not Fine
6. Better Now
7. Dwindling
8. Finding Time
9. Invading Space
10. Closing Doors

Pre-order here.

Listen to Barely Civil’s New Single – ‘Better Now’

To coincide with the album announcement, Barely Civil has shared a new track called ‘Better Now‘.

Embracing a bold emo-rock tone with singalong hooks, ‘Better Now’ is carried with steady verses and radiant choruses. The track serves as a slight departure for Barely Civil‘s usual atmospheric and DIY tone. Nevertheless, it firmly retains the band’s core emo sound.



This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.