El Moono Share ‘The Waking Sun’s Title Track

El Moono

Emerging Brightonian quartet El Moono are getting closer to the release of their debut album. With ‘The Waking Sun’ due for release on May 10th via Lockjaw Records, the post-metallers have shared its title track.

Opening with a slaughtering, distorted swagger, it segues into a foreboding, sinister number that complements the torturous lyrical nature. Leading to a towering mid-section, dominated by Chris Cartwright’s impressive drum work, Leah Stanhope of fellow Brighton band, Congratulations, makes a guest appearance for its ethereal comedown.

On the track, El Moono explained “the song is a day-to-day analysis of depression, which lingers throughout every ‘waking’ moment of the day. This has been a general theme in our writing since our last record, ‘Temple Corrupted’, and we felt that the title track summarises the album as a whole.” 

The band also commented on the addition of Stanhope, stating “her vocals add so much emotion to the song – it’s possibly the only song we’ve written in a major key.”

It’s the latest in a series of previews of ‘The Waking Sun’, and on the evidence of this, The Charm,’ and Haunting, it promises to be an outstanding record.

31st Hope & Ruin, Brighton
1st Paper Dress Vintage, London
2nd EBGBS, Liverpool
3rd Legends, Edinburgh
5th Crofters, Bristol
6th Subside, Birmingham
7th Frog & Fiddle, Cheltenham
8th The Cavern, Exeter


This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.