At this time of year, many music fans have one eye on making their end of year lists but as today’s list of releases show, there are some potential late contenders.

One of the main records that could appear on those all-important lists is ‘Holy Hell’ by Architects. While you can expect to hear polarising comments on ‘Simulation Theory’, the eighth studio album from stadium rockers Muse.

Away from the major names, there is a whole host of notable releases. Sludge/post-metal unit Ohhms return with ‘Exist’, genre-mixing metallers SHVPES deliver ‘Greater Than’, and Against Me!’s Laura Jane Grace goes down an Americana route as she and the Devouring Mothers with ‘Bought To Rot’.

There’s also music from Cult LeaderSunshine Frisbee Laserbeam, Cold Night For AlligatorsGoldblume, Black CoastYonaka, I Don’t Know How but They Found MePrey DriveJ Mascis and more.

Finally, Hopeless Records launch their first ‘Songs That Saved My Life’ compilation. Featuring cover songs performed by Neck DeepTaking Back Sunday, As It Is and others, the album aims to raise money for suicide prevention and mental health charities.

Follow us on Spotify for more playlists.

Architects – Holy Hell (★★★★.5 Review)
Muse – Simulation Theory
Laura Jane Grace & the Devouring Mothers – Bought to Rot (★★★ Review/Stream)
Various – Songs That Saved My Life
Ohhms – Exist (Stream)
Lacuna Coil – The 119 Show – Live In London (★★★★ Review)
SHVPES – Greater Than (★★★.5 Review)
La Dispute – Somewhere at the Bottom of the River Between Vega and Altair (10th Anniversary)
Boygenius – Boygenius EP
Sunshine Frisbee Laserbeam – Blackout Cowboy
Cult Leader – A Patient Man (★★★★ Review)
Cold Night For Alligators – Fervor
Black Coast – Ill Minds Volume 1 EP
Goldblume – HUSK (“Music By Numbers” feature)
Yonaka – Creature EP
I Don’t Know How but They Found Me – 1981 Extended Play
War On Women – Live At Magpie Cage (Acoustic)
All That Remains – Victim Of The New Disease
Old Wounds – Glow
J Mascis – Elastic Days
Prey Drive – Once More With Feeling
Deathrite – Nightmares Reign
Four Stroke Baron – Planet Silver Screen
Overgrow – The House You Made EP
Telethon – Modern Abrasive EP
Barbarian Hermit – Solitude and Savagery
Macseal – Map It Out
Flat Earth – None For One
Neon Saturdays – Freaks In The Ocean

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.