#NewMusicFriday (March 1st 2024)

March 1st 2024

March kicks off with a whole load of new releases. However, I’ll admit there’s only a handful of #NewMusicFriday releases that are worth mentioning.

It’s led by Iron Maiden legend Bruce Dickinson who returns with ‘The Mandrake Project’. It’s Dickinson‘s first solo effort in almost two decades and looks to be a grandiose concept that even expands to a multi-part graphic novel.

Goth alt-metallers New Years Day‘s ‘Half Black Heart’ sees frontwoman Ash Costello reconnect with returning members Jeremy Valentyne (rhythm guitar), Brandon Wolfe (bass), and Trixx Daniel (drums). The end result is a mix of melodic metal injected with brutal flourishes and anthemic hooks.

I’ve previously written about Footballhead and their reissued debut album – ‘Overthinking Everything’. In short, it’s a very admirable set of hooky emo rock that takes stylistic cues from Basement, Jimmy Eat World, and 90’s alt-rock. Short, sharp songs that are equally fun as they are emotional.

The other noteworthy releases include Philadelphia’s Mannequin Pussy returning with a self-assured fourth album in ‘I Got Heaven’. Japanese alt-rockers Bo Ningen serve up ‘The Holy Mountain’, an alternative soundtrack to the 1973 film of the same nameEnslaved mark one year of ‘Heimdal’ with a deluxe edition. Dynamic and powerful German metalcore quartet Defocus release their sophomore effort; ‘there is a place for me on earth’. Likewise, Alienist join the lineage of Aussie metalcore groups with their debut offering – ‘Love/Hate’ EP

What is out on #NewMusicFriday?

Bruce Dickinson – The Mandrake Project
New Years Day – Half Black Heart
Mannequin Pussy – I Got Heaven
Footballhead – Overthinking Everything
Bo Ningen – The Holy Mountain
Enslaved – Heimdal (Deluxe)
Defocus – there is a place for me on earth
Ministry – Hopiumforthemasses
Pissed Jeans – Half Divorced
Noah and the Loners – A Desolate Warning
Alienist – Love/Hate EP
Gulfer – Third Wave
Hunny – Live at Paul’s
Suicidal Angels – Profane Prayer
Blind Channel – Exit Emotions
Dez Dare – A Billion Goats. A Billion Sparks. Fin.
Hammok – look how long lasting everything is moving forward for once
Blowfuse – The 4th Wall
Doro – Conqueress – Extended
Fathomless Ritual – Hymns For The Lesser Gods
Faye Webster – Underdressed At The Symphony
Firewind – Stand United
Games We Play – Life’s Going Great
Hollow Coves – Nothing To Lose
Suldusk – Anthesis
Volcandra – The Way Of Ancients
Altered Revelations – Of Monsters
Anchors & Hearts – Deathlist
Dedications – Moments
Echoes Of Hate – Negative Thoughts
Einvigi – Monokroma
Lysistrata – Veil
Ways. – Are We Still Alive?

If you think I’ve missed something or have a new album/EP/song to tell us about, tell us about it here.

If you’re looking for the latest tracks focusing on rock, punk, hardcore, metal, emo, and everything in between, then check out our ‘Newish Music’ playlist on Spotify or Apple Music.


This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.