Song of the Day: The Ghost Inside – ‘Wash It Away’

The Ghost Inside
Photo Credit: Markus Hauschild

Twenty years since forming, and nine years since the horrific bus crash that changed their lives, The Ghost Inside continue persist. ‘Wash It Away’ is the latest track taken from their forthcoming album, ‘Searching For Solace’.

Embracing a strong melody, and combining it with a confident metalcore foundation, The Ghost Inside‘s return proves to be an emotional release. Its chorus sees vocalist Jonathan Vigil reflect on the realisation that everything, and anything, can change in a moment. “It’s really hard to break everything down, start over and rebuild,” Vigil explains. “Whether that is a relationship, schooling, a career or a business venture. After dedicating so much time to something, it can be scary to lose it and start over.”

Driven by Zach Johnson and Chris Davis’ crushing guitars, Jim Riley’s pulsating bass work, and Andrew Tkaczy’s domineering drum work, ‘Wash It Away’ is an instant reminder of The Ghost Inside‘s ferocious ability.

Just as past singles, ‘Death Grip’ and ‘Earn It’ demonstrated, ‘Searching For Solace’ promises to show the Californian group in a more aggressive light with an emphasis on melody.

There’s more singing and song structure than on the previous album (2020’s ‘The Ghost Inside’), but there are also some of the heaviest songs we’ve done,” comments Riley. “We really know who we are, and we also feel comfortable stepping into the future. This is a new chapter, but it’s not disconnected from what the band sounded like before. It’s more of an extension of it. We’re excited by it.”

With production shared between Dan Braunstein (Spiritbox, Dayseeker), Cody Quistad (Wage War), Carson Slovak and Grant McFarland (August Burns Red, Bloodywood), ‘Searching For Solace’ lyrically aims to highlight The Ghost Inside‘s fundamental elements; honesty, vulnerability, the message, and the melody. Undoubtedly, ‘Wash It Away’ sets the tone for what’s to come in the spring.

‘Searching For Solace’ by The Ghost Inside is released digitally on April 19th and physically on June 7th on Epitaph Records.

The Ghost Inside Searching For Solace
1. Going Under
2. Death Grip
3. Light Years
4. Secret
5. Split
6. Wash It Away
7. Cityscapes
8. Earn It
9. Wrath
10. Reckoning
11. Breathless

Find The Ghost Inside on: Facebook | X (Formerly Twitter) | Instagram | TikTok | Spotify | Apple Music | Website

From Monday to Friday, we put the spotlight on a fresh track that you need to hear.

Every week, we aim to showcase a wide range of music, from familiar favourites to emerging bands to DIY newcomers.

Want to submit your new track for a potential ‘Song of the Day’ selection? Head here to share your details.


This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.