Taking Back Sunday Reveal New Album Details

Taking Back Sunday 2023
Photo Credit: Ashley Osborn

Earlier this summer, Taking Back Sunday returned with ‘The One‘, their first song in over four years. The quartet have now revealed details of their eighth album. Named for the section of road in North Carolina between Highpoint, Chapel Hill, and Raleigh where the band and their friends would meet up as teenagers, ‘152’ is set for release on October 27th, 2023, via Fantasy Records.

Produced by Tushar Apte and mixed by Neal Avron (Twenty One Pilots, Bleachers), ‘152’ will consist of ten songs including the aforementioned ‘The One‘ and the new single, ‘S’old’. It is a record that was inspired by the long layoff and cloud of uncertainty that the world has faced in recent years. However, as the band have shared, ‘152’ is executed with optimism.

“‘152’ offers a lot more hope and light than we first realized when we were in the thick of it, putting it all together,” the quartet said. “We’ve been fortunate enough, through our music, to grow up with a lot of people going through the same things at the same time, and probably feeling the same way. Our hope is that you’re able to find a little bit of yourself in this new collection of songs, because you’re not alone, and neither are we.”

Although having been a band for over 20 years, the members of Taking Back Sunday are still enthusiastic about writing reflective and emotional songs.

“You would think after 20 years, we knew what each other is going to do,” said vocalist Adam Lazzara. “But there were so many times making this record where I heard the initial idea and thought I knew where it would go, but then I was super surprised. It’s those kinds of surprises that make it so exciting. That’s why we all still want it so badly.”

Here are the full details of ‘152’ by Taking Back Sunday

Taking Back Sunday - 152 artwork
Photo Credit: Djay Brawner

1. Amphetamine Smiles
2. S’old
3. The One
4. Keep Going
5. I Am the Only One Who Knows You
6. Quit Trying
7. Lightbringer
8. New Music Friday
9. Juice 2 Me
10. The Stranger

Fans can pre-order ‘152’ here.

Watch the video for Taking Back Sunday’s New Single ‘S’old’

Described as “a fiery declaration of commitment and accountability”, Taking Back Sunday‘s new single,  ‘S’old’ lyrically captures the elder emo rocker’s struggles with the obligations of adult responsibility and its acceptance. Yet it plants ‘152’ seed of gratitude and hope.

Its video picks up where ‘The One’ left off. It sees the band reconnected with old friends, performing in a backyard for old time’s sake.


This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. Learn more.